Phoenix Critics Circle Announces 2016 Award Winners


On December 16th, 2016, the Phoenix Critics Circle gathered to announce their winners. Below you’ll find their list of winners for the best films and performances of 2016.

Best Picture

Winner: Moonlight

  • Arrival
  • Hell or High Water
  • La La Land
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

Best Comedy Film

Winner: Hunt for the Wilderpeople

  • Deadpool
  • The Edge of Seventeen
  • Hail, Caesar!
  • Hunt for the Wilderpeople
  • The Nice Guys

Best Science Fiction Film

Winner: Arrival

  • 10 Cloverfield Lane
  • Arrival
  • Midnight Special

Best Horror Film

Winner: The Witch

  • The Conjuring 2
  • Don’t Breathe
  • The Witch

 Best Mystery or Thriller Film

Winner: Hell or High Water

  • Green Room
  • Hell or High Water
  • Nocturnal Animals

Best Animated Film

Winner: Kubo and the Two Strings

  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • Zootopia

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: The Handmaiden

  • The Handmaiden
  • Neruda
  • Things to Come
  • The Wailing

Best Documentary

Winner: O.J.: Made in America

  • 13th
  • Gleason
  • O.J.: Made in America
  • Tickled
  • Weiner

Best Actor

Winner: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

  • Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling, La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic

Best Actress

Winner: Natalie Portman, Jackie

  • Amy Adams, Arrival
  • Annette Bening, 20th Century Women
  • Jessica Chastain, Miss Sloane
  • Natalie Portman, Jackie
  • Emma Stone, La La Land

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight

  • Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
  • Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
  • John Goodman, 10 Cloverfield Lane
  • Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Viola Davis, Fences

  • Viola Davis, Fences
  • Greta Gerwig, 20th Century Women
  • Naomie Harris, Moonlight
  • Helen Mirren, Eye in the Sky
  • Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Tie: Damian Chazelle, La La Land and Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

  • Damian Chazelle, La La Land
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester By The Sea
  • Denis Villeneuve, Arrival

Best Screenplay

Winner: Efthimis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster

  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Efthimis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster
  • Eric Heisserer, Arrival
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
  • Taylor Sheridan, Hell or High Water

Best Score

Winner: Justin Hurwitz, La La Land

  • Nicholas Britell, Moonlight
  • Justin Hurwitz, La La Land
  • Johann Johannsson, Arrival
  • Mica Levi, Jackie

The Phoenix Critics Circle is established as an association for professional film critique and analysis. Administered by the non-profit Phoenix Film Foundation, the Phoenix Critics Circle is committed to the progression and preservation of film and is composed of print, television, radio and internet film critics from Arizona.

TV Review: ‘Justice League Action’

Previous article

Movie Review: ‘Passengers’

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *